Curly Girl and Opulence

First knitting. I’ve been working on a sweater for me since a little bit after my birthday in February. It required a bit of fiddling, since I was between sizes and decided to use a yarn with a completely different gauge than the pattern called for.

Pattern: Opulent Raglan
Source: KnitScene Winter 2008
Yarn: Moda Dea Washable Wool (discontinued)
Needles: 5mm
Size: to fit 36-inch bust (34-inch)

I extended the neckline by about 2 inches after reading that some people find the neckline to be higher than in the pattern photo. Now that the body is finished, I can see that one inch would have been fine.

I’m giving this pattern a “difficult” rating because of all the math and figuring out I had to do, but 5 stars because it’s a beautiful pattern and well-worth the effort.

Other mods to length include adding 4 inches to the the length of the waist (before hip-increases), and am adding 1.5” to the bottom of the sweater. I then added a 1.5” 2×2 ribbed hem instead of the fold-up the pattern suggests.

OMG I am so happy with this!

Last week, I went off shampoo. I also went off sulfates and silicone. I’m extremelly happy with how my hair is looking these days, and if you have curly/wavy hair, check out http://www.naturallycurly.com. Seriously. Go there and learn!

I also finished another Christmas gift. This one is a shawl for my mother-in-law.

Pattern: Andrea’s Shawl
Source: Knitpicks.com
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Treasure
Needles: 4mm

2 thoughts on “Curly Girl and Opulence”

  1. Your sweater is gorgeous! And the shawl looks really warm and cozy.
    Is your hair naturally curly? Really, I never would have guessed when we met last year. Lucky you!

Leave a Reply

