2008 Recap

2008 was the year of the knitting. I knit way more than I ever thought I could in only 12 months time. I never even really looked back at my resolutions until now;

  1. Finish this sweater this year. I don’t know how ambitious this is, but I do know that I have a crappy attention span so we’ll have to wait and see if I lose interest or not.
  2. Go to at least one knitting gathering a month
  3. Participate in at least one swap per season
  4. blog at least once per week (to encourage knitting? Perhaps ^_^)
  5. knit a pair of socks!

To recap, I did finish the sweater, but it’s not really wearable. Not only is it too warm, but I did’t set the shoulders in right and it never really fit properly. I’m still sort of thinking of ripping of the arms, making it longer and just wearing it as a vest/tank. I went to at least one knit gathering a month, even after the transit strike hit. I’m glad I was able to stay social this year. I only participated in one swap last year, at the beginning of the year, and never actually received my package from my flake/partner. I’m joining the cocoa swap again this year, and am really looking forward to it. My final resolution was to knit a pair of socks, since I never had before. I did! I knit two full pairs (one for my mom, and one for my fiancé, Chris), and even knit a couple pairs of shorties for myself.

New resolutions for 2009:

  1. Knit a sweater for me that fits!
  2. Knit something for my friend Isibeal who is having a baby boy at the end of January.
  3. Finish my bridesmaid knitting before July so that I don’t go crazy from stress.
  4. Knit Chris a pair of socks to wear on our wedding day.
  5. I wanted to make number five another knitting resolution, but this one is important to me. Read more. I used to be a voracious reader until I learned to knit. I vow to find a way to have both in my life.

I still can’t get over how much knitting I did this year. I put two knitting patterns out into the knitting world last year. Simple patterns, but I’m still proud of them. A sleep mask, and a pair of long fingerless mittens.

patterns1

7 scarves/neckwarmers. All but one were gifts (the green chenille neckwarmer with buttons was for me)

scarves-neckwarmers

12 Hats. OMG that’s a lot of hats! lol I kept 2, 5 were Christmas presents, and the rest were all gifts the rest of the year.

hats

4 Wearable garments. One baby dress, one baby cardigan, a sweater that never fit right and a lace top for myself that I love.

garments

Six pairs of socks/slippers. The footies were both for me, slippers for dad, slippers for Chris, socks for mom, and socks for Chris.

socks

4 large-scale projects. A blanket for my parents, two shawls for my FSILs, and a capelet for myself.

bigguns

7 pairs of mittens and fingerless gloves. Three I kept for myself, but the rest were all gifts.

mittens

That’s a total of 41 knits in 2008. That’s an average of 3.4 knits per month. Holy crap. I’m amazed my joints still work! Happy new year everyone, and cheers to 2009.

3 thoughts on “2008 Recap”

  1. Wow, that was a productive year! Seeing how much you accomplished in 2008, I say that you won’t have trouble achieving your resolutions for this year!

Leave a Reply

