Bring it on Home

Do you ever have one of those moments when you realize just how privileged you really are? My life is so full right now that I can barely breathe, and it’s equal parts exhausting and amazing. Right now, this is happening:

a partially built deck at the back of a townhouse
We are having a deck built in our backyard, so queue party time!

I can’t believe how quickly this is coming together. I was expecting the deck to take a few weeks, but it looks like it’s going to be done in a matter of days. There’s going to be some stairs going in on the left, and rails all around, and some lattice at the bottom to keep the animals from nesting. I’m going to have to book in a back yard deck-warming party to celebrate.

A backyard deck with rails and stairs.
Our finished deck. With rails and stairs and everything.

We had a really nice weekend camping at Murphy’s Point. It’s been a really bad year for mosquitos and I’m bitten all over, but it was worth it. We had a nearly perfect weekend. It only rained briefly while we slept, and otherwise it was sunny and just warm enough. It was a beautiful day on Saturday. I always do a bit of campfire cooking. This time we did one-pot pasta that ended up more like soup, and I brought some granola that I had made the week before.

granola in a decorative cereal bowl with a container of granola behind
Homemade granola with almonds, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds, walnuts, honey and maple syrup OMG so good!

Since I usually do my running on Saturday mornings, I didn’t get to do it this weekend. I’ll probably suffer for it next weekend. We spent a lot of time around the fire drinking beer and chatting. I didn’t do very much knitting, even though I brought it with me. I started one of the sleeves on my sweater but didn’t make much progress.

Dinner Saturday night at Murphy's Point with some very good friends
Dinner Saturday night at Murphy’s Point with some very good friends

 

School

I seem to have an ongoing problem with my expectations for grades. Is it a little bit ridiculous to expect 80’s, and then experience crushing disappointment when you don’t get them? I mean, 77% and 73% are both perfectly acceptable! According to the University of Waterloo, that works out to a B+ and a B. What the hell am I complaining about? Honestly, I’m a little bit ashamed of myself, and need to worry less about my grades and more about the written feedback my tutor has been giving me.

One thought on “Bring it on Home”

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself. In all the time I was in University the best grade I ever received was in Political Science, of all subjects! And you know how creative I am. There I was majoring in Fine Arts and getting those acceptable grades but receiving great grades for writing essays on whether or not an anarchist “government” would be good for Canada. Life is strange sometimes, and I can tell you from personal experience that the important things eventually get done. I tell my daughter all the time that 99% of the things I worried about NEVER happened. Imagine what I might have done with all that energy if I’d channeled it into something else that was more constructive. Like…learning to knit…LOL

Leave a Reply

